February 2023 Meeting Minutes

Greater Pine Island Civic Association — Meeting Minutes, Feb. 7, 2023, Pine Island United Methodist Church

Board Members Present: Helen Fox, President; Nadine Slimak, Vice President; Mike Sweeney, Treasurer; Connie D’Alessio; Shari Perkins; Deb Swisher-Hicks. (Excused: Scott Wilkinson)

49 attendees signed in. The meeting was also livestreamed via Facebook (336 people viewed the meeting live or watched the recording afterward).

President Helen Fox opened the meeting shortly after 6:30 p.m. with opening remarks, including the announcement that Board Member Cindy Bear had resigned, following her relocation off Pine Island.

Members voted to approve the January 2023 meeting minutes.

Mike Sweeney gave the Treasurer’s Report:

  • $16,763.25 Money Market
  • $7,431.15 Checking
  • $76,370.54 CD Investment
  • $313.17 January Dues Payments Collected

Shari Perkins then conducted Board elections.

GPICA members of at least 30 days and current in their dues are eligible to vote in the GPICA annual meeting each February. The members were voting to fill three board seats.

The GPICA nominating committee nominated Helen Fox and Mike Sweeney, who agreed to run for re-election, and Bokeelia Resident and former Board Member Tim Heitz. Matlacha resident Jette Smith ran after being nominated from the floor at January’s meeting. No new nominations from the floor were made during the (February) meeting.

Deborah Swisher-Hicks then provided development updates, including

The Lee County Hearing Examiner recommendations that:

  • The application to convert the old chamber of commerce building into a car lot be approved
  • The Matlacha-Pine Island Fire Control District request for a helipad at Fire Station 2 be approved
  • The request for a self-storage facility behind the new Publix on Pine Island Road be approved

Deb also explained how residents can get involved in the process and reminded attendees that the GPICA has an overview of the development process posted on its website.

Shari then announced the election results: Members re-elected Helen Fox and Michael Sweeney and Tim Heitz was elected.

Helen then began the main program — an audience Q&A session with County staff members who provided updates on Ian debris collection, housing, permitting and other issues. (For the full discussion and Q&A, please review the video below or read the PI Eagle story here) Lee County staff in attendance were:

  • Doug Whitehead, Director of Solid Waste
  • Dave Loveland, Director of Community Development
  • Shawn McNulty, Building Official
  • Randy Cerche, Director of the Department of Transportation
  • Rob Price, Deputy DOT Director
  • Jeannie Sutton, Lee County Veteran and Human Services
  • Marc Mora, Assistant County Manager
  • Dave Harner, Deputy County Attorney

James Hefelfinger, Florida Department of Transportation Project Manager, provided an overview of the permanent road repair process for Pine Island Road. Other FDOT attendees were Chris Molliten, Jessica White and the two FDOT consultants: Jessica Ellis and Doug Abate.

FEMA representatives were were Joyce Malone, Emmanuel Saint Juste and Sarah Fernandez.

After a motion from the audience and a second, the meeting was adjourned at 8:02 p.m.

—Minutes respectfully submitted by Vice President Nadine Slimak

— Minutes approved by membership March 7, 2023

Meeting Recording

Comments are closed.